CareCheck research

Assisted living contract rules by state

How much notice each state requires before an assisted living community raises fees or makes a resident move out, what the contract must disclose, and who licenses the community — for all 50 states and DC, with the regulation behind every number.

By the CareCheck editorial team · Updated · How we fact-check · Download CSV

Key findings

  • Of 51 jurisdictions, 35 set a confirmed minimum notice period for assisted living rate increases; the most common is 30 days (range 30–90).
  • 45 set a confirmed minimum written notice for a non-emergency involuntary discharge; the most common is 30 days (range 14–45).
  • We could not confirm the current rules for Arizona, Connecticut and Vermont from an official source, so those rows are left blank rather than guessed.
  • Where a state sets no minimum, the notice period is whatever the contract says — which is why the contract's own notice clauses matter so much.
  • Emergencies (a danger to the resident or others) usually allow much shorter notice in every state.

How to use this table

Find your state, then compare the minimums here with the notice clauses in the residency agreement you've been given. A contract can promise more notice than the state requires, but not less. If an agreement allows a rate increase or a move-out on shorter notice than the state minimum, ask the community about it in writing and consider contacting your state's long-term care ombudsman, linked in each row.

State rules change. Each row links to the regulation we relied on, so you can confirm it is still current before relying on it. This is educational information, not legal advice.

Assisted living contract rules by state (updated 2026-10-12)
StateLicensing agency & license typeNotice before a rate increaseNotice before involuntary dischargeWhat the contract must discloseRegulation
Alabama Alabama Department of Public Health, Bureau of Health Provider Standards (Division of Licensure and Certification)Assisted Living Facility (separate Specialty Care Assisted Living Facility license for residents with cognitive impairment) 30 daysAla. Admin. Code r. 420-5-4-.05 30 daysAla. Admin. Code r. 420-5-4-.05 A written financial agreement signed before or at admission must list the facility's basic charges, the period covered, services billed extra, the refund policy for advance payments, termination provisions for either party, and the bed-hold policy.Specialty Care Assisted Living Facilities (for cognitive impairment) have a separate license. Shorter discharge notice is allowed for a physician-ordered emergency move. Ala. Admin. Code ch. 420-5-4Ombudsman
Alaska Alaska Department of Health, Division of Health Care Services, Residential LicensingAssisted Living Home 30 days7 AAC 75.340(a)(6)(A) 30 daysAS 47.33.360(b) A residential services contract signed before move-in must describe the services and accommodations, the rates charged, the resident's rights and duties, the termination policies, the amount and purpose of any advance payments, and the refund policy.The 30-day termination notice doesn't cover medical terminations or physician-ordered emergency transfers. AS 47.33Ombudsman
Arizona Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Assisted Living Facilities LicensingAssisted Living Facility (assisted living home: 10 or fewer residents; assisted living center: 11 or more) Not yet confirmed Not yet confirmed Not specifiedWe could not confirm Arizona's current notice rules from the official rule text. Ask the Arizona Department of Health Services, or check A.A.C. R9-10-807, before relying on a number. A.A.C. Title 9, Ch. 10, Article 8Ombudsman
Arkansas Arkansas Department of Human Services, Office of Long Term CareAssisted Living Facility (Level I or Level II) 30 daysLevel II Rules §601.3(f) 30 daysLevel II Rules §602.1(a) The occupancy admission agreement must list core services and the extra-fee services, state that rate changes need 30 days' written notice, give the refund policy for advance payments, and set out termination conditions.Applies to Level I and Level II facilities. Either side may end the agreement with 30 days' written notice; shorter notice is allowed in an emergency. Rules for Assisted Living Facilities Level IIOmbudsman
California California Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division (Senior Care Program)Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE) 90 daysCal. Health & Safety Code §1569.655(a) 30 days22 CCR §87224(a); Cal. Health & Safety Code §1569.683(b) The admission agreement must describe services covered by the basic fee, a fee schedule for extra services, billing and payment policies, the conditions for rate increases, the refund policy, and the conditions for terminating the agreement.The 90-day rate notice doesn't apply to increases from a change in the resident's care level. With prior state approval, a facility can evict on 3 days' notice for good cause. Health & Safety Code §1569 et seq.; 22 CCR §87100 et seq.Ombudsman
Colorado Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Health Facilities and Emergency Medical Services DivisionAssisted Living Residence 30 days6 CCR 1011-1 Ch. 7, Part 13.1 30 days6 CCR 1011-1 Ch. 7, Part 11.16 The written resident agreement must cover charges, refunds and deposit policies, the services included for the agreed rate, a priced list of optional services, any bed-hold fee, and the reasons the residence could pursue involuntary discharge.Exceptions apply to both notices when care needs increase. Residents can file a grievance within 14 days of a discharge notice. 6 CCR 1011-1, Chapter 7Ombudsman
Connecticut Connecticut Department of Public Health, Facility Licensing and Investigations SectionAssisted Living Services Agency (ALSA), providing services within a registered Managed Residential Community (MRC) Not yet confirmed Not yet confirmed Not specifiedWe could not confirm Connecticut's current rules from the official statute. Ask the Department of Public Health or the long-term care ombudsman about notice periods for managed residential communities. Regs. Conn. State Agencies §19-13-D105
Delaware Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Division of Health Care QualityAssisted Living Facility 60 days16 Del. Admin. Code 3225, §10.7.2.4 30 days16 Del. Admin. Code 3225, §10.6.5.2 The contract must list basic and optional services, resident rights and grievance procedures, occupancy and bed-assignment policies, discharge and termination procedures, rates and who is responsible for payment, and billing, payment and credit policies.The 60-day rate notice doesn't apply when the increase is due to a change in the resident's medical condition. Shorter discharge notice is allowed in a health emergency. 16 Del. Admin. Code 3225
District of Columbia DC Health, Health Regulation and Licensing Administration (Community Residence Facilities Branch)Assisted Living Residence (ALR) 45 daysD.C. Code §44-106.03(a)(6) 30 daysD.C. Code §44-106.08(d) The written resident agreement must list services included and excluded, admission and discharge criteria, resident rights and grievance procedures, the full rate structure (service packages, fee-for-service and other charges), who is responsible for payment, and the refund terms for prepaid fees.The 45-day rate notice doesn't apply to increases needed because of a change in medical condition. Involuntary discharge is allowed only for nonpayment or care needs the residence can't meet. D.C. Code §44-101.01 et seq.Ombudsman
Florida Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA), Bureau of Health Facility Regulation, Assisted Living UnitAssisted Living Facility (standard license, plus limited nursing services, extended congregate care and limited mental health specialty licenses) 30 daysFla. Stat. §429.24(2) 45 daysFla. Stat. §429.28(1)(k) The contract must spell out the services and accommodations, the rates or charges, at least 30 days' written notice of a rate increase, the resident's rights and duties, and the refund policy for advance payments and deposits.A resident can't be required to give more than 30 days' notice to leave. The 45-day discharge notice doesn't apply in a medical emergency or for harmful conduct. Fla. Stat. ch. 429, Part I; Fla. Admin. Code ch. 59A-36Ombudsman
Georgia Georgia Department of Community Health, Healthcare Facility Regulation DivisionAssisted Living Community (25+ residents); smaller settings are licensed as Personal Care Homes 30 daysGa. Comp. R. & Regs. 111-8-63-.16(b) 30 daysGa. Comp. R. & Regs. 111-8-63-.29(1) The admission agreement must give a current statement of all fees and charges, the services covered by the basic fee, the services offered at extra cost, the notice periods for increases, and a written discharge and transfer procedure.30 days applies to personal-services charges; room-and-board increases need 60 days. Smaller settings are licensed as personal care homes under separate rules. Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 111-8-63Ombudsman
Hawaii Hawaii Department of Health, Office of Health Care Assurance (State Licensing Section)Assisted Living Facility No state minimum found — set by the contract 14 daysHaw. Admin. Rules §11-90-10(b)(1) At admission the facility must provide a service listing with base rates, what the base rate includes and fees for extra services, plus a service contract describing services, rates and the conditions under which extra fees may be charged.The rules set no notice period for rate increases. The 14-day discharge notice covers danger, unmet needs, or not following the agreement. Haw. Admin. Rules ch. 11-90Ombudsman
Idaho Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Licensing and Certification (Residential Assisted Living Facilities Program)Residential Assisted Living Facility No state minimum found — set by the contract 30 daysIDAPA 16.03.22.216.02.f.iii The written admission agreement must fully reflect the facility's charges, commitments and services, including billing, payment and refund procedures, charges for not giving 30 days' notice, and how residents can contest charges or rate increases.The current rule (July 2026) requires 30 days' notice to vacate from either side. We did not find a rate-increase notice period in the current rule. IDAPA 16.03.22
Illinois Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH), Division of Assisted LivingAssisted Living Establishment (also Shared Housing Establishment) 30 days77 Ill. Adm. Code 295.2030 30 days210 ILCS 9/80(b) The contract must be titled "assisted living establishment contract", printed in at least 12-point type, and must state the base rate and the services it covers, fee schedules for extra services, any community fee and whether it is refundable, the refund policy, how the contract can be changed or ended, and the admission and termination criteria.The fee notice doesn't apply when service needs change. A termination notice also goes to the state and the ombudsman, and an appeal pauses the termination. Assisted Living and Shared Housing Act, 210 ILCS 9; 77 Ill. Adm. Code 295Ombudsman
Indiana Indiana Department of Health (IDOH), Long-Term Care DivisionResidential Care Facility (assisted living is not a separate license; facilities that call themselves assisted living must meet IC 12-10-15 disclosure rules) 30 days410 IAC 16.2-5-1.2(g) 30 days410 IAC 16.2-5-1.2(r)(7) At admission the resident must get a copy of the admission agreement, written basic daily or monthly rates, a written statement of all services, information on related charges and on admission, readmission and discharge policies, and the policy on voluntary termination, including how entrance fees and deposits are handled. The agreement must include at least the items in IC 12-10-15-9.Licensed as residential care facilities. Shorter notice is allowed in listed situations; residents have 10 days to request a hearing. Proposed rule changes were pending in 2026. 410 IAC 16.2-5Ombudsman
Iowa Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL), Health Facilities DivisionAssisted Living Program (certified) 30 daysIowa Code 231C.5(1) and 231C.5(2)(f) No state minimum found — set by the contract The occupancy agreement must describe all fees, charges and rates for tenancy, basic and optional services, the procedure for nonpayment, the agreement term, criteria and procedures for occupancy and involuntary transfer, the internal appeal process, the refund policy, and billing and payment procedures.The 30 days covers any change to the occupancy agreement. Iowa sets no fixed discharge-notice period; it follows the occupancy agreement, and landlord-tenant law also applies. Iowa Code ch. 231C; 481 IAC 69Ombudsman
Kansas Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS)Assisted Living Facility (also Residential Health Care Facility; both are adult care homes) 30 daysK.A.R. 26-39-103(c)(2) 30 daysK.A.R. 26-39-102(f); K.S.A. 39-936(g) Before admission, the facility must tell the resident in writing its rates, charges, payment obligations and refund policy. At admission it must sign a written agreement that describes in detail the services and goods to be provided and the resident's obligations, and the agreement may not include a general waiver of liability.Changes in charges or services can't take effect until notice is given. Shorter discharge notice is allowed if others' health or safety is at risk. K.S.A. 39-923 et seq.; K.A.R. 26-39-100 to 26-39-105 and 26-41-101 to 26-41-207Ombudsman
Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Office of Inspector General (Division of Health Care)Assisted Living Community (license categories: ALC, ALC with basic health care, ALC with dementia care) 30 daysKRS 194A.713(7) 30 daysKRS 194A.713(8) The lease, in at least 12-point type, must cover the community's termination policy, terms of occupancy, general services and fee structure, specific services and their fees, how services and fees can be changed, refund and cancellation policies, and grievance procedures (KRS 194A.713).The 30-day move-out notice in the statute covers nonpayment; for other reasons, the lease's termination terms apply. KRS 194A.700 to 194A.729; 902 KAR 20:480Ombudsman
Louisiana Louisiana Department of Health (LDH), Health Standards SectionAdult Residential Care Provider (ARCP), Levels 1-4 (Level 3 is assisted living; Level 4 adds intermittent nursing) 30 daysLAC 48:I.6833 30 daysLAC 48:I.6837 The residency agreement must spell out payment terms for basic and optional services, including service packages and extra charges, regular and extra fees, payer source, due dates and deposits. It must also set out the procedure for changing the agreement and the notice required for termination.Discharge notice can be shortened to 15 days for nonpayment. A pending appeal suspends the termination. LAC 48:I, Chapter 68Ombudsman
Maine Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Licensing and CertificationAssisted Housing Program: Assisted Living Facility (Part A, apartment-style) or Residential Care Facility (Part B) 30 days10-144 CMR Ch. 113, Part A, Appendix A 15 days10-144 CMR Ch. 113, Part A, Sec. 4(W)(3) Providers must use the Department's standard admission contract (Appendix A of the rule). It covers rates and charges, any security deposit (no more than one month's rent, refunded within 30 days), refunds, transfer and discharge rights, and the 30-day notice required to change contract terms.Maine's 15-day non-emergency discharge notice is among the shortest in the country. Advance payments must be refunded pro rata within 30 days of discharge or death. 10-144 CMR Ch. 113, Part AOmbudsman
Maryland Maryland Department of Health, Office of Health Care Quality (OHCQ)Assisted Living Program 45 daysCOMAR 10.07.14.27 30 daysCOMAR 10.07.14.26 and 10.07.14.34 The resident agreement must identify who is responsible for paying all fees and charges, give at least 45 days' notice of rate increases, state fair billing and credit policies, and set out discharge procedures, including at least 30 calendar days' written notice before a non-consensual discharge (COMAR 10.07.14.26-.27).The 45-day rate notice doesn't apply when an increase is needed because of a change in medical condition. Residents must give 30 days' notice to leave. COMAR 10.07.14Ombudsman
Massachusetts Executive Office of Aging & Independence (AGE, formerly Executive Office of Elder Affairs), Assisted Living CertificationAssisted Living Residence (certified, not licensed) 60 days940 CMR 40.06(e) No state minimum found — set by the contract The residency agreement must list all charges for resident services, personal care, lodging, meals and optional services, any Basic Health Services fees, bundled versus extra-charge services, the refund policy for administrative fees and deposits, conditions for termination by either party with the required notice period, and the medication management policy (651 CMR 12.08(2)).The Attorney General's July 2026 rules require 60 days' notice to all residents before raising a service price or fee, and limit rent after a resident's death to 10 days. Evictions must go through housing court under landlord-tenant law, starting with a notice to quit; there's no assisted-living-specific day count. M.G.L. c. 19D; 651 CMR 12.00Ombudsman
Michigan Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA), Bureau of Community and Health SystemsNo assisted living license; most assisted living operates as a licensed Home for the Aged (or Adult Foster Care home) No state minimum found — set by the contract 30 daysR 325.1922(13) The resident admission contract must specify the services to be provided and their fees, the notice the home will give on any change in fees, transportation services and fees, the admission and discharge policy, the refund policy, and the resident's rights and responsibilities (R 325.1922).Michigan has no assisted living license; most operate as Homes for the Aged. Fee-change notice is whatever the contract states. Public Health Code Part 213Ombudsman
Minnesota Minnesota Department of Health (MDH), Health Regulation DivisionAssisted Living Facility; Assisted Living Facility with Dementia Care (licensed since Aug. 1, 2021) No state minimum found — set by the contract 30 daysMinn. Stat. 144G.52, subd. 7(b) The written assisted living contract must state the license category, all terms and the services covered by the contracted amount, the cost of extra services, any added fees if the resident's condition changes, the grounds for transfer, termination or emergency relocation, billing and payment procedures, and notice of the right to appeal a termination (Minn. Stat. 144G.50).No rate-notice period in the statute, but contract changes need the resident's written agreement. A pre-termination meeting is required; expedited terminations need only 15 days. Minn. Stat. ch. 144G; Minn. R. ch. 4659Ombudsman
Mississippi Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH), Health Facilities Licensure and CertificationPersonal Care Home - Assisted Living No state minimum found — set by the contract No state minimum found — set by the contract Before or at admission, the operator and resident must sign a written financial agreement that states the basic charges (room, board, laundry, personal care), the period covered, services with special charges, and refund terms for advance payments (Rule 47.11.8).Written notice of charge changes is required, but no minimum number of days is set for rate changes or discharge. 15 Miss. Admin. Code Pt. 16, Subpt. 1, Ch. 47Ombudsman
Missouri Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS), Section for Long-Term Care RegulationAssisted Living Facility (also Residential Care Facility) No state minimum found — set by the contract 30 daysRSMo 198.088.1(6)(d); 19 CSR 30-88.010(17) Before or at admission and during the stay, residents must be told in writing what services are available and the related charges, including charges not covered by the basic rate. Services must follow a written contract signed by the resident (RSMo 198.088.1(6)(b); 19 CSR 30-88.010(8)).Discharge is allowed only for medical reasons, safety, or nonpayment, and the notice must explain hearing rights. No rate-notice period was found. RSMo ch. 198; 19 CSR 30-86Ombudsman
Montana Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS), Office of Inspector General, Licensure BureauAssisted Living Facility (Categories A, B, C and D) 30 daysARM 37.106.2823(1)(g) 30 daysARM 37.106.2824(1)-(3) The written resident agreement, signed before admission, must spell out transfer/discharge criteria, the services the facility will provide, a list of specific charges and payment frequency, all fines and late fees, security deposits, and the refund policy.Shorter notice is allowed for a medical emergency, immediate danger, or a resident who has lived there less than 30 days. ARM 37.106.2801-37.106.2898Ombudsman
Nebraska Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Division of Public Health, Licensure UnitAssisted-Living Facility No state minimum found — set by the contract 30 days175 NAC 4-006.04, item 23 Residents must be told in writing the pricing structure and rates for all facility services, and the facility's admission, discharge and transfer criteria before admission. The resident service agreement must state the services to be provided and their costs and payment terms.Rates must be in writing, but no minimum notice period for increases was found. 175 NAC 4Ombudsman
Nevada Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance (HCQC), Nevada (formerly under DHHS Division of Public and Behavioral Health)Residential Facility for Groups (must hold an assisted living endorsement to advertise assisted living) No state minimum found — set by the contract 30 daysNRS 449A.114(1)(a) The contract must be titled "Service Delivery Contract for Residential Facility for Groups" and printed in at least 12-point type. It must state the base rate and the services it covers, a fee schedule for added services, billing procedures, how the contract can be changed or ended, and admission and termination criteria.No rate-notice minimum was found. For nonpayment, a 30-day delinquency notice and 15-day cure period come before any discharge notice. NRS Chapter 449 and 449A; NAC 449.156-449.27706Ombudsman
New Hampshire NH Department of Health and Human Services, Health Facilities Administration (Health Facilities Licensing Unit)Assisted Living Residence - Residential Care (ALR-RC); also Supported Residential Health Care Facility (SRHCF) 30 daysHe-P 804.14(o)(1) 30 daysRSA 151:26, II(a)-(b); He-P 804.15(e) The admission agreement must list the basic daily, weekly and monthly fee, the core services that rate covers, the timing and frequency of cost-of-care increases, the agreement term, and the criteria for staying. It must also give the grounds for termination, house rules and costs for services outside the core package.The rate notice doesn't apply to certain Medicaid-funded residents. Discharge notice also goes to the ombudsman. N.H. Admin. R. He-P 804Ombudsman
New Jersey New Jersey Department of Health, Certificate of Need and LicensingAssisted Living Residence (also Comprehensive Personal Care Home and Assisted Living Program) No state minimum found — set by the contract 30 daysN.J.A.C. 8:36-4.1(a)37 Residents must get an admission agreement before or at admission that describes the services and related charges and the facility's policies on payment, deposits and refunds. Residents must be told in writing of all fees, both at admission and whenever charges change.Assisted living residences must give written notice of fee changes, but the rule sets no number of days. N.J.A.C. 8:36Ombudsman
New Mexico New Mexico Health Care Authority (HCA), Division of Health Improvement, Health Facility Licensing and CertificationAssisted Living Facility for Adults 30 days8.370.14.20(A)(13) NMAC 15 days8.370.14.20(A)(12)(a) NMAC The admission agreement must include the cost of services and method of payment, the refund provision for death, transfer or discharge, the facility's rules, staffing ratio, bed-hold policy, residents' legal rights, and the grounds for terminating the agreement.New Mexico requires only 15 days' notice of termination. A replacement rule was proposed in 2025; check whether it has taken effect. 8.370.14 NMACOmbudsman
New York New York State Department of Health, Division of Adult Care Facilities and Assisted Living SurveillanceAssisted Living Residence (ALR), with optional Enhanced (EALR) and Special Needs (SNALR) certification; underlying adult care facility license as Adult Home or Enriched Housing Program 45 days10 NYCRR 1001.8(b)(2)(xvi); Public Health Law 4660 30 daysSocial Services Law 461-g; 18 NYCRR 487.5(d)(6)(xvi) and 488.5(c)(7)(xvi), applied to ALRs by 10 NYCRR 1001.8(f)(1) ALRs must use the DOH Model Residency Agreement or an approved substitute, in plain language and at least 12-point type. It must list all fees and the services each covers, termination, discharge and transfer procedures, refund terms and the complaint process. A separate disclosure sheet and the state Consumer Information Guide must also be provided.Adding services isn't a fee increase. If a resident objects to an involuntary termination, the operator must get a court's approval. 10 NYCRR Part 1001Ombudsman
North Carolina NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Health Service Regulation, Adult Care Licensure SectionAdult Care Home (7+ beds); Family Care Home (2-6 beds); 'assisted living residence' is the umbrella term in G.S. 131D-2.1 30 days10A NCAC 13F .0704(a)(1)(D) 30 days10A NCAC 13F .0702(d) The resident contract must list charges for services and accommodations, including the cost of each level of service and any other fees, and disclose any health needs the facility has decided it cannot meet. It must also state the maximum Special Assistance rate, and the facility must give house rules and refund policies.Applies to adult care homes (7+ beds); the facility must use the state's notice of discharge and hearing request forms. 10A NCAC 13FOmbudsman
North Dakota North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services (Health Response and Licensure; Food and Lodging Unit)Assisted Living Facility (separate from Basic Care Facility) 30 daysN.D.C.C. 50-10.2-02(6) 30 daysN.D.C.C. 50-10.2-02(1)(o) The facility must have a written agreement with each tenant covering rent and service rates, payment terms, refund policies, how rates change, and tenancy criteria. The tenancy criteria must be disclosed in writing before signing.Covers any change in the cost or availability of services. Shorter discharge notice is allowed for urgent medical needs or safety. N.D.C.C. ch. 50-32; N.D. Admin. Code ch. 75-03-34; residents' rights in N.D.C.C. ch. 50-10.2Ombudsman
Ohio Ohio Department of Health, Bureau of Regulatory OperationsResidential Care Facility (assisted living) 30 daysOhio Adm. Code 3701-16-07(E)(3); Ohio Rev. Code 3721.13(A)(25) 30 daysOhio Rev. Code 3721.16(A)(1) The written resident agreement, signed before residency begins, must explain all charges including security deposits and fines, the services offered and their costs, and the refund policy. It must also state that the facility must discharge or transfer a resident who needs skilled nursing beyond what it can provide.The 30-day notice applies to changes in the basic rate. Discharge notice goes to the resident and sponsor, with a copy to the state. Ohio Adm. Code Chapter 3701-16; Ohio Rev. Code Chapter 3721Ombudsman
Oklahoma Oklahoma State Department of Health, Protective Health Services, Long Term Care ServiceAssisted Living Center (also Continuum of Care Facility) No state minimum found — set by the contract 30 daysOAC 310:663-3-5(a) and The resident service contract must clearly state admission and discharge criteria, services provided, charges for services, dispute and grievance procedures, and the term, renewal and cancellation terms. It must also say that the written contract is the entire agreement.No rate-increase notice minimum was found. The termination notice must explain how to request a hearing. Okla. Admin. Code 310:663Ombudsman
Oregon Oregon Department of Human Services (ODHS), Safety, Oversight and Quality unit, Community-Based Care LicensingAssisted Living Facility and Residential Care Facility (memory care by endorsement) 30 daysOAR 411-054-0085(6); OAR 411-054-0025 30 daysOAR 411-054-0080 Before move-in the facility must give a disclosure statement and residency agreement. These cover services and charges, its policy on rate increases (30 days' notice for facility-wide changes, immediate notice for individual service-plan changes), refund policy, move-out criteria, and resident rights.30 days covers facility-wide increases; individual changes from a service-plan change need only immediate written notice. The state reviews a facility's documentation before a move-out notice. OAR chapter 411, division 54Ombudsman
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Long-Term Living, Bureau of Human Services LicensingPersonal Care Home (PCH) and Assisted Living Residence (ALR) - two separate license types 30 days55 Pa. Code 2800.25(c)(10) 30 days55 Pa. Code 2800.228(b) The resident contract must include a fee schedule with actual charges for each service, who pays and how, refund conditions (including admission fees and refunds at death), bed-hold charges, the conditions for ending the contract, and residents' rights and complaint procedures.Covers both personal care homes and assisted living residences. Assisted living residents can end the contract with 14 days' notice. 55 Pa. Code Ch. 2800Ombudsman
Rhode Island Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH), Center for Health Facilities RegulationAssisted Living Residence (with optional Dementia/Alzheimer Special Care Unit and Limited Health Services licenses) 30 days216-RICR-40-10-2 § 2.4.15(D) 30 days216-RICR-40-10-2 § 2.4.19 Before any money changes hands and before move-in, the residence must sign a residency agreement covering resident rights, admission and discharge criteria and policies, the unit and shared space, services provided and services that can be arranged, basic rates, extra charges now and later, deposits and advance fees, the rate-increase policy, house rules, and the grievance procedure.Covers rates, fees, and other charges. A resident facing a nonpayment discharge can stay by paying the full balance before eviction. 216-RICR-40-10-2Ombudsman
South Carolina South Carolina Department of Public Health (DPH), Bureau of Health Facilities Licensing (took over from the former DHEC on July 1, 2024)Community Residential Care Facility (CRCF) 30 daysS.C. Code Regs. 60-84, § 901.A.3 30 daysS.C. Code § 44-81-40(D) A written agreement is required before admission. It must explain the specific care, services and equipment provided, disclose all fees, include advance notice of at least 30 days before fee changes, and set out the refund policy, personal needs allowance, transportation policy, discharge/transfer and termination conditions, and the Resident's Bill of Rights and grievance procedure.Discharge is allowed only for medical reasons, others' welfare, or nonpayment. A resident who leaves without written notice can be charged for at most 14 days. S.C. Code Regs. 60-84Ombudsman
South Dakota South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Licensure and Certification (Health Facility Licensure)Assisted Living Center No state minimum found — set by the contract 30 daysARSD 44:70:09:14(2) A signed and dated admission agreement must list available items and services and their charges (including what cannot be charged), how personal funds are protected, resident advocate contacts, how to file abuse/neglect complaints, how to reach the resident's physician, Medicare/Medicaid application information, the bed-hold and readmission policy, and medication responsibilities. Any change must be signed as an addendum.No rate-notice period was found; agreement changes need a signed addendum. Discharge notice also goes to the state ombudsman. ARSD Article 44:70
Tennessee Tennessee Health Facilities Commission (HFC), Division of Licensure and RegulationAssisted-Care Living Facility (ACLF) 30 daysTenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0720-26-.08(6)(d) 30 daysTenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0720-26-.14(1)(g) The ACLF must have a written admission agreement that includes a procedure for transfers and discharges and does not violate resident rights. It must also give residents an accurate written statement of fees and services at admission, and residents have the right to help draw up the agreement's terms.The 30-day discharge notice doesn't apply when a physician orders a move to a higher level of care. Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. ch. 0720-26Ombudsman
Texas Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), Long-term Care RegulationAssisted Living Facility (Type A / Type B) No state minimum found — set by the contract 30 days26 TAC § 553.267(a)(3)(Y) There must be a written admission agreement specifying the services to be provided and the charges for them, plus a statement if any services or supplies could be a Medicare benefit. The facility must also give the required disclosure statement, including the Alzheimer's/memory-care disclosure where applicable.No rate-increase notice minimum was found; the admission agreement must state charges. Discharge notice must give the reason, date, destination, and appeal rights. 26 TAC Chapter 553Ombudsman
Utah Utah Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Division of Licensing and Background Checks, Office of Licensing - Health Facilities LicensingAssisted Living Facility (Type I / Type II; large, small, and limited-capacity sizes) 30 daysUtah Admin. Code R432-270-10(8)(c)(vii) 30 daysUtah Admin. Code R432-270-11(3)(b) A written admission agreement must be signed before admission. It must specify room and board and basic/optional service charges, the admission, retention, transfer, discharge and eviction policies, conditions that end the agreement, any reason for mandatory shared units, refund procedures (for 30-day notices, no-notice moves, emergency moves, and death), the state's authority to examine records, and a 30-day notice before any change in established charges.The rule was renumbered in 2025, so older copies cite different sections. Discharge notice goes to the ombudsman the same day. Utah Admin. Code R432-270Ombudsman
Vermont Vermont Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living (DAIL), Division of Licensing and ProtectionAssisted Living Residence; Residential Care Home (Level III / Level IV) Not yet confirmed Not yet confirmed Not specifiedWe could not confirm Vermont's current rules from an official source. Ask the Division of Licensing and Protection or the long-term care ombudsman before relying on a number. Residential Care Home and Assisted Living Residence Licensing RegulationsOmbudsman
Virginia Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS), Division of Licensing ProgramsAssisted Living Facility (residential living or assisted living level of care) No state minimum found — set by the contract 14 days22VAC40-73-430(B) A written, signed agreement at or before admission must list specific charges and payment frequency, all accommodations/services offered and their charges, any deposit or advance payment and its refund policy, the facility's policy on increasing charges and how much advance notice it gives, refund rules on transfer, discharge or closure, conduct rules, and the actions or conditions that could lead to discharge.Each facility must state its own rate-notice period in the agreement. Discharge works in two steps: notice that a move is planned within 30 days, then at least 14 days' notice of the date. 22VAC40-73Ombudsman
Washington Washington State Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS), Aging and Long-Term Support Administration, Residential Care ServicesAssisted Living Facility (optional Memory Care certification) 30 daysRCW 70.129.030(4) 30 daysRCW 70.129.110(4)(a) Before admission, and at least every 24 months after, the facility must tell each resident in writing what services, items and activities are available, what they cost (including anything not covered by the basic rate), and the facility's rules. It must also give the department-approved disclosure of the scope of care and services it offers.Small facilities (6 or fewer residents) may change charges on 14 days' notice after a lasting change in the resident's condition. Chapter 388-78A WAC; chapter 18.20 RCW; chapter 70.129 RCWOmbudsman
West Virginia West Virginia Office of Inspector General, Office of Health Facility Licensure and Certification (OHFLAC)Assisted Living Residence 30 daysW. Va. Code R. § 71-21-4.7.6 30 daysW. Va. Code R. § 71-21-4.7.7 A written contract at admission must state the population served, the health and nursing services provided (including CPR), the annual or monthly price with full disclosure of all costs and what care changes would raise them, the refund policy, discharge criteria and notification policies, how to complain, medication handling and payment, management of resident funds, and whether the residence has liability insurance. Undisclosed costs cannot be charged.Rules moved to 71 CSR 21 (effective May 2026). The rate notice is waived for increases driven by greater care needs if the resident was told in writing at admission. W. Va. Code R. § 71-21Ombudsman
Wisconsin Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS), Division of Quality Assurance, Bureau of Assisted LivingCommunity-Based Residential Facility (CBRF); Residential Care Apartment Complex (RCAC); Adult Family Home (AFH) 30 daysWis. Admin. Code DHS 83.29(1)(c) 30 daysWis. Admin. Code DHS 83.31(4)(a)1. CBRF: a written admission agreement, explained orally in the resident's language, must describe basic services, rate and payment method, fees for extra services, how residents will be told of charge changes, refund terms for advance payments, entrance fees and deposits (deposit capped at one month's fees), room-hold charges, voluntary-discharge notice terms, and the reasons and notice for involuntary discharge. RCAC: a written fee schedule must separate rent, meals and services, list application/entrance fees and deposits, and give the refund policy.Values shown are for community-based residential facilities (CBRFs); residential care apartment complexes have parallel 30-day rules. Wis. Admin. Code ch. DHS 83Ombudsman
Wyoming Wyoming Department of Health, Aging Division, Healthcare Licensing and Surveys (HLS)Assisted Living Facility (Level 1, or Level 2 with secure dementia unit) 30 daysCh. 12, Section 7(c)(xvii) 30 daysCh. 12, Section 7(k)(i) The rules don't list required contract contents. The resident file must hold signed resident assistance contracts and a written acknowledgment that the facility's policies, including admission/discharge policies, were received and explained. Residents have a right to 30 days' advance notice of changes in services or charges.Shorter discharge notice is allowed for imminent danger or care needs beyond assisted living. Residents may object to a discharge. Wyoming Dept. of HealthOmbudsman

Methodology

For each state and the District of Columbia we read the assisted living licensing regulation (and, where relevant, the statute) and the licensing agency's own guidance. A notice period appears only when we found a state-set minimum in an official source; otherwise the cell says so. We did not use referral directories or secondary summaries as sources. Where a state licenses more than one type of setting, the notes say which one the row describes.

Found an error or a rule that changed? Email support@assistedlivingcheck.com and we'll check it against the source. You're welcome to cite or reuse this table with a link to this page.

Frequently asked questions

How much notice does an assisted living facility have to give before raising rates?

It depends on the state. Of the 48 jurisdictions we confirmed, 35 set a minimum, most commonly 30 days. Some require more: California (90 days), Delaware (60 days), Massachusetts (60 days), District of Columbia (45 days), Maryland (45 days) and New York (45 days). 13 set no minimum, so the contract's own notice clause controls. Increases tied to a change in the resident's care level are often exempt.

How much notice is required before an assisted living facility can make a resident move out?

Most states require 30 days' written notice before a non-emergency involuntary discharge. A few allow less — Hawaii (14 days), Maine (15 days), New Mexico (15 days) and Virginia (14 days) — and Florida (45 days) requires more. Nearly every state allows much shorter notice in an emergency, and many give residents a right to appeal.

Who regulates assisted living in my state?

Each state licenses assisted living through its own agency — usually the health department or the human services department — and the name of the license varies (assisted living facility, residential care facility, personal care home, and others). The table lists each state's agency and governing regulation, plus a link to its long-term care ombudsman, who can help residents for free.

Can an assisted living contract give less notice than the state requires?

No. A contract can promise more notice than the state minimum, but a clause that allows less generally can't override state law. If an agreement allows a rate increase or a move-out on shorter notice than your state requires, ask the community about it in writing and consider contacting your state's long-term care ombudsman.

Related guides