An example report, built from fictional documents for a made-up facility. Check your own contract →

CareCheck

Signing Day Pack

Maple Grove Assisted Living

Prepared for your mom · Assisted living for Mom · Generated September 1, 2026

CareCheck provides document-based educational information, not legal, medical, or financial advice. Confirm important terms with the facility in writing. For sensitive matters — guarantor language, arbitration, discharge rights — consider a qualified elder-law attorney or your local Long-Term Care Ombudsman.

1. Documents reviewed

2. What it costs

Advertised / base price$3,950 / month
Known monthly cost (current documented scenario)$7,550 / month
Potential monthly range$7,550 – $9,475 / month
Estimated move-in cost (total due)$10,300
of which non-refundable$1,250
of which refundable deposits$1,500

3. Cost breakdown

Base rent

Studio apartment base fee $3,950/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
One-bedroom apartment base fee $4,650/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1; Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.1
One-bedroom deluxe apartment base fee $5,300/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Two-bedroom apartment base fee $6,100/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Second person occupant surcharge $850/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1

Care-level charges

Care Level 1 (minimal assistance) $600/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Care Level 2 (moderate assistance) $1,350/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Care Level 3 (extensive assistance) $2,400/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1; Care assessment (maple-grove-care-assessment.pdf), p.1
Care Level 4 (comprehensive assistance) $3,550/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Memory Care neighborhood surcharge $1,200/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1

Recurring services

Medication management $500/mo You confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1; Care assessment (maple-grove-care-assessment.pdf), p.1
Insulin / injection administration $300/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Two-person transfer assist $500/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Incontinence supplies and care $250–$700/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Escort to meals and activities $350/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Personal laundry $75/mo Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1

Usage-based charges

Transportation to medical appointments $25 Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Beauty salon, podiatry, and dental services Not found Needs clarification
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1

One-time move-in charges

Community Fee $3,500 one-time Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Community Fee (move-in offer) $2,000 one-time Confirmed
Source: Written offer (maple-grove-written-offer.pdf), p.1
Assessment Fee $250 one-time Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1
Apartment hold / reservation fee $1,000 one-time Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1

Deposits

Security Deposit $1,500 one-time Confirmed
Source: Fee schedule (maple-grove-fee-schedule.pdf), p.1; Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.2

Other

Room restoration charge $400 Confirmed
Source: Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.2

Optional services

Complimentary personal laundry (move-in offer) $0/mo Needs clarification
Source: Written offer (maple-grove-written-offer.pdf), p.1
Care Level 2 included (move-in offer) $0/mo Needs clarification
Source: Written offer (maple-grove-written-offer.pdf), p.1

4. 36-month cost projection

Projected 36-month total: $280,600. No annual increase percentage was found in the documents, so none is applied.

Current documented scenario$7,550 / month
One care level higher$8,700 / month
Assumes the care level rises one step to "Care Level 4 (comprehensive assistance)".
Highest documented care level$8,700 / month
Assumes the highest documented care level ("Care Level 4 (comprehensive assistance)").
With the documented annual increase$7,550 / month
No annual increase percentage was found in the documents, so the exposure to future increases is shown as unknown.

This projection leaves out: Transportation to medical appointments; Beauty salon, podiatry, and dental services; Future rate increases — no annual percentage was found in the documents..

5. High-priority terms

Base monthly fee for one-bedroom apartment [Confirmed]

The base monthly fee for Unit 214 (one-bedroom) is $4,650, which includes meals, housekeeping, utilities, and basic cable.

Source: Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.1

Care level monthly fees [Confirmed]

Care levels range from Level 1 (minimal assistance) at $600/month to Level 4 (comprehensive assistance) at $3,550/month.

Source: Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.1

Community fee (non-refundable) [Confirmed]

A one-time community fee of $3,500 is due before or at move-in and is non-refundable. The written offer reduced this to $2,000 for this resident.

Source: Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.2; Written offer (maple-grove-written-offer.pdf), p.1

Annual fee increase notice period [Confirmed]

The Community may increase the base monthly fee and service fees once per calendar year with at least 45 days' prior written notice.

Source: Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.2

Mid-year fee adjustment rights [Confirmed]

The Community may additionally adjust fees at any time with 30 days' written notice to reflect changes in the level of care required, changes in taxes or utility costs, or documented increases in the cost of providing services.

Source: Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.2

No maximum percentage cap on increases [Confirmed]

The agreement does not set a maximum percentage for any increase.

Source: Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.2

Grounds for involuntary discharge by community [Confirmed]

The Community may terminate the agreement with 30 days' written notice if the resident's needs exceed the level of care the Community is licensed or able to provide, for non-payment, or for conduct that endangers others. In an emergency the Community may arrange an immediate transfer.

Source: Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.2

Responsible party liability and guaranty [Confirmed]

The responsible party agrees to manage the resident's funds and ensure all amounts owed are paid from the resident's income and resources. The responsible party does not guarantee payment from their own funds unless they sign a separate Guaranty of Payment. The responsible party is personally responsible for amounts they cause the Community to lose by failing to apply the resident's available funds.

Source: Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.2

Binding arbitration and waiver of jury trial and class action [Confirmed]

Any dispute arising out of the agreement (other than eviction or unpaid fees) shall be resolved by binding arbitration. The resident and responsible party waive the right to a jury trial and the right to participate in a class action.

Source: Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.3

6. Missing or unclear terms

7. Document conflicts

Community Fee amount differs between offer and agreement

Written offer (maple-grove-written-offer.pdf), p.1: Community Fee reduced from $3,500 to $2,000

Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.1: Community Fee is $3,500, one-time, non-refundable

The family may be unclear which amount they will actually owe at move-in. The written offer reduces the fee to $2,000, but the signed agreement states $3,500. This is a $1,500 difference in upfront costs.

Ask the facility which term will apply and request the answer in writing.

Care Level 2 inclusion in move-in offer vs. standard pricing

Written offer (maple-grove-written-offer.pdf), p.1: First 30 days of Level 2 care included at no charge

Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.1: Agreement lists Care Level fees but does not mention the Level 2 waiver from the offer

The offer promises 30 days of Level 2 care at no charge ($1,350 value), but the agreement does not reference this waiver or state how it will be applied. If the resident is assessed at Level 3 (as recommended), it is unclear whether the Level 2 waiver still applies or is superseded.

Ask the facility which term will apply and request the answer in writing.

Personal laundry inclusion differs between agreement and offer

Written offer (maple-grove-written-offer.pdf), p.1: Complimentary personal laundry for the first three months

Residency agreement (maple-grove-residency-agreement.pdf), p.1: Personal laundry is not included and is billed at $75 per month if elected

The agreement states personal laundry is not included in the base fee and costs $75/month if elected. The offer promises complimentary personal laundry for the first three months. The agreement does not reference the three-month complimentary period.

Ask the facility which term will apply and request the answer in writing.

Recommended Care Level (Level 3) vs. move-in offer (Level 2 included)

Care assessment (maple-grove-care-assessment.pdf), p.1: Recommended Care Level is Level 3 (extensive assistance)

Written offer (maple-grove-written-offer.pdf), p.1: Offer includes first 30 days of Level 2 care at no charge

The care assessment recommends Level 3 ($2,400/month), but the move-in offer includes only 30 days of Level 2 ($1,350/month). After 30 days, the resident will likely be billed at Level 3, creating a significant cost jump not clearly disclosed in the offer.

Ask the facility which term will apply and request the answer in writing.

8. Questions to ask — with room for answers

1. The written offer dated March 10 states the Community Fee is reduced to $2,000, but the Residency Agreement signed March 14 lists it as $3,500. Which amount will we owe at move-in on April 1, and can you provide written confirmation?

Why: the relevant document and the relevant document directly conflict on this $1,500 upfront charge. The family needs clarity in writing before move-in.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):

2. The care assessment recommends Level 3 care ($2,400/month), but the move-in offer includes only 30 days of Level 2 care ($1,350/month) at no charge. After 30 days, will the resident be charged the full Level 3 rate, and what will the total monthly cost be starting in May?

Why: the relevant document recommends Level 3, but the relevant document offers Level 2 inclusion. the relevant document does not reference how the offer applies if the assessment recommends a higher level. The family needs to understand the actual cost after the promotional period.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):

3. The move-in offer promises complimentary personal laundry for three months, but the Residency Agreement states personal laundry costs $75/month if elected and is not included in the base fee. Will the three-month complimentary period be honored, and if so, will it be documented in an addendum to the Agreement?

Why: the relevant document and the relevant document conflict on personal laundry. the relevant document section 8 states addenda control over conflicting language, so the family should request written confirmation.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):

4. The assessment recommends medication management at $425/month. Is this add-on fee included in the move-in offer's 30-day Level 2 inclusion, or will it be charged separately starting April 1?

Why: the relevant document recommends medication management, the relevant document offers Level 2 inclusion, and the relevant document and the relevant document list medication management as a separate $425/month add-on. The family needs to know the total first-month cost.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):

5. The Agreement states the Community may increase fees annually with 45 days' notice, and additionally adjust fees with 30 days' notice for changes in care level, taxes, utilities, or cost of services, with no maximum percentage cap. What is the typical annual increase percentage, and can you provide examples of past increases?

Why: the relevant document section 4 allows unlimited fee increases with minimal notice. The family should understand the facility's historical practice to budget long-term.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):

6. If the resident's care needs increase and she is reassessed to Level 4 ($3,550/month), when does that new rate take effect, and will we receive 30 days' written notice before the charge begins?

Why: the relevant document section 2 states reassessment occurs every six months or upon change in condition, and new fees take effect on the first day of the month following written notice. The family should confirm the notice timeline.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):

7. The Agreement requires a $1,500 Security Deposit, refundable within 45 days after move-out less damage and unpaid charges. What specific items or conditions are considered 'damage beyond normal wear,' and can you provide examples?

Why: the relevant document section 3 defines the refund terms but does not specify what constitutes damage beyond normal wear. The family should get this in writing to avoid disputes.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):

8. The Agreement states a $400 room restoration charge is due upon move-out. What does this charge cover, and is it in addition to deductions from the Security Deposit for damage?

Why: the relevant document section 5 mentions both a $400 room restoration charge and deductions from the Security Deposit for damage, but does not clarify whether these are separate or overlapping. The family needs clarity.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):

9. If the resident is hospitalized, the Agreement states the apartment is held and billed at the full Base Monthly Fee for up to 21 days. After 21 days, what happens—is the apartment released, and are we still billed?

Why: the relevant document section 5 specifies 21-day bed-hold billing but does not state what occurs after 21 days. The family should understand the long-term hospitalization policy.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):

10. The Agreement requires binding arbitration and waives the right to a jury trial and class action participation. Before signing, can you explain what disputes would be subject to arbitration and provide the name of the arbitration provider?

Why: the relevant document section 7 imposes binding arbitration but does not name the provider or give examples. The family should understand the dispute resolution process before committing.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):

11. The Agreement states the Community may terminate with 30 days' notice if the Resident's needs exceed the level of care the Community is licensed to provide. What is the highest level of care Maple Grove is licensed to provide, and under what circumstances would the resident's needs exceed it?

Why: the relevant document section 5 allows termination if needs exceed licensed capacity, but does not define that capacity. The family should know the facility's limits to assess long-term security.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):

12. Can you provide a written summary of all move-in charges due by April 1, including the Community Fee, Assessment Fee, Security Deposit, and first month's prorated Base and Care Fees, with the total amount and payment due date?

Why: the relevant document section 3 lists move-in charges but the Community Fee conflict (the relevant document vs. the relevant document) and the Care Level uncertainty (the relevant document vs. the relevant document) make the total unclear. A written itemized statement will prevent confusion.

Facility's answer (get it in writing):